## Public Meeting of the Interagency Climate Change Adaptation Task Force Miami-Dade County, June 23, 2010

Miami-Dade County Commission Chambers Stephen P. Clark Government Center 111 NW 1st Street, 2nd Floor Miami, FL 33128

9:00 a.m. Welcome

Honorable Carlos Alvarez, Mayor, Miami-Dade County

9:05 a.m. Introduction of the Interagency Climate Change Adaptation Task Force and Highlights from the Interim Report

Jane Lubchenco

Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and Administrator

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

9:10 a.m. Charge to Participants

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency

9:15 a.m. Keynote Address

**Coastal Climate Change Adaptation: Implications and Policy** 

James F. Murley & Susanne M. Torriente Chair, Florida Energy and Climate Commission

Director, Office of Sustainability, Miami-Dade County

9:35 a.m. Panel: Hazard Preparedness/Climate Change Adaptation

Honorable Katy Sorenson, Miami-Dade County Commissioner and Chair, Budget,

Planning and Sustainability

Margaret Davidson, Director, Coastal Services Center, National Oceanic and

Atmospheric Administration

Curtis Sommerhoff, Director, Miami-Dade County Department of Emergency

Management and Homeland Security

Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Dean, University of Miami School of Architecture and Member,

Miami-Dade Climate Change Advisory Task Force

10:10 a.m. Public Comment

10:40 a.m. Mid-Point Observations

Robert Verchick

**Deputy Associate Administrator** 

Office of Policy, Economics and Innovation, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

10:45 a.m. Panel: Water Resource Management and Downstream Implications for the Everglades

Paul Souza, Director, South Florida Ecological Services Office, U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Service

Jayantha Obeysekera, Director, Office of Modeling, South Florida Water Management District

Billy Causey, Southeast Regional Director, National Marine Sanctuary Program, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

## 11:25 a.m. Public Comment

## 11:55 a.m. Closing Remarks

Harvey Ruvin

Chair, Miami-Dade Climate Change Advisory Task Force and Clerk of Court of Miami-Dade County

## 12:00 p.m. Adjourn