This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

Timothy Geithner sworn in as Secretary of the Treasury

Timothy Geithner is now officially the 75th Secretary of the United States Treasury.
The Senate confirmed him late this afternoon by a vote of 60-34, and just a few moments ago, following an introduction by President Obama, Vice President Biden administered the oath of office.
Tomorrow, we'll take a closer look at the challenges Secretary Geithner faces in his new role leading the Treasury Department.