This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

Modernizing Government: Your Five-Livestream Guide

We're streaming the entire White House Forum on Modernizing Government, including five simultaneous breakout sessions. Here's the complete guide to attendees, and where you can watch every session.

Note: The opening session of the forum will begin at 1:45, the breakouts at 2:20, and the closing session at 4:00.

Today we're convening the White House Forum on Modernizing Government to bring private sector and federal government leaders together in a discussion about new ways to use technology to streamline government operations, improve customer service, and maximize returns on information technology investments.

It should be an interesting event, designed to genuinely harness creativity and technological innovation to make government work better and make it more user-friendly.  Of course the opening session with the President will be live-streamed, as will the closing session, but so will all five breakout sessions in between.  You can catch it all at, but we thought it might be a helpful viewing guide if we laid out who’s who and who’s talking about what on what stream:

Stream #1: Streamlining Operations

  • Deputy Secretary Moderator:  Scott Gould, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • CEOs: Sam Allen, Deere and Company; Peter Darbee, PG&E; Jeff Fettig, Whirlpool; Sam Gilliland, Sabre Holdings; Bill McComb, Liz Claiborne; Harold Mills, Zero Chaos; Indra Nooyi, PepsiCo; Greg Page, Cargill; Ron Sargent, Staples; Michael Thompson, Fair Oaks Farms
  • Deputy Secretaries and Other Senior Administration Officials:  Chris Lu, Cabinet Secretary; Dan Poneman, Department of Energy; John Porcari, Department of Transportation
  • From Labor: Greg Junemann, International Federation of Professional & Technical Engineers

Stream #2: Streamlining Operations

  • Deputy Secretary Moderator: Bill Lynn, Department of Defense
  • CEOs: Steve Ballmer, Microsoft; Jeff Bewkes, Time Warner; Scott Davis, UPS; Al Fuller, Integrated Packaging; Charles Harrington, Parsons Corporation; Dan Hesse, Sprint Nextel; Sal Iannuzzi, Monster; Andrea Jung, Avon; Jim Kennedy, T. Rowe Price; Klaus Kleinfeld, Alcoa
  • Deputy Secretaries:  Lori Garver, NASA; John Berry, Office of Personnel Management; David Ogden, Department of Justice
  • From Labor:  Colleen Kelley, National Treasury Employees Union

Stream #3: Transforming Customer Service

  • Deputy Secretary Moderator:  Tony Miller, Department of Education
  • CEOs: Tom Adams, Rosetta Stone; Carl Camden, Kelly Services; Mickey Drexler, J.Crew; Angie Hicks, Angie’s List; Debra Lee, BET Networks; Punita Pandey, netCustomer; Jeremy Stoppelman, Yelp; Dan Weirich, GW Micro
  • Deputy Secretaries:  Seth Harris, Department of Labor; Kathleen Merrigan, Department of Agriculture
  • From Labor:  Bill Dougan, National Federation of Federal Employees

Stream #4: Transforming Customer Service

  • Deputy Secretary Moderator:  David Hayes, Department of Interior
  • CEOs: Dan Bane, Trader Joe’s; David Dougherty, Convergys; Chris Hughes, Facebook; Jeffrey Jordan, OpenTable; Gary Kelly, Southwest Airlines; Wendy Lea, GetSatisfaction; Cheryl Milone, Article One Partners; Andrew Mason, Groupon; Craig Newmark, Craigslist; Pam Nicholson, Enterprise; David Segura, Vision IT
  • Deputy Secretaries:  Bill Corr, Department of Health and Human Services; Ron Sims, Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • From Labor:  David Holway, National Association of Government Employees

Stream #5: Maximizing Technology Return on Investment 

  • Deputy Secretary Moderator:  Jack Lew, Department of State
  • CEOs: John Chen, Sybase Inc.; Jim Crowe, Level 3 Communications; Ping Fu, Geomagic; Dan Fulton, Weyerhaeuser; Rob Glaser, Real Networks; Jeff Joerres, Manpower; John Lee, Lee Technologies; John McGlade, Air Products & Chemicals; Shantanu Narayen, Adobe; John Riccitiello, Electronic Arts; Glenn Tilton, United Airlines
  • Deputy Secretaries:  Bob Perciasepe, Environmental Protection Agency; Neal Wolin, Department of The Treasury
  • From Labor:  John Gage, American Federation of Government Employees