This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The First Lady and Secretary Clinton Present the International Women of Courage Awards

Watch the ceremony live at 3:00 via the Stae Department's DipNote blog.

Yesterday Labor Secretary Hilda Solis discussed her perspective on International Women’s Day, and the First Lady's role in recognizing and exemplifying the ideals behind it.  Today, the State Department's DipNote blog tells us about the annual International Women of Courage Awards -- and will allow you to watch the ceremony live at 3:00:

First Lady Michelle Obama and Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will host the annual International Women of Courage Awards on March 10, 2010, at 3:00 p.m. EST at the Department of State. You may watch the ceremony broadcast live on DipNote.

To mark International Women's Day, the annual International Women of Courage Award recognizes women around the globe who have shown exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for women's rights and advancement. This is the only Department of State award that pays tribute to emerging women leaders worldwide, and offers a unique opportunity to recognize those who work in the field of international women's issues.

Secretary Clinton announced the 10 winners of this year's International Women of Courage (IWOC) award. The awardees are: Shukria Asil (Afghanistan), Col. Shafiqa Quraishi (Afghanistan), Androula Henriques (Cyprus), Sonia Pierre (Dominican Republic), Shadi Sadr (Iran), Ann Njogu (Kenya), Dr. Lee Ae-ran (Republic of Korea), Jansila Majeed (Sri Lanka), Sister Marie Claude Naddaf (Syria), and Jestina Mukoko (Zimbabwe).

Read more about the honorees here.