This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

8 Ways to Follow the White House

A list of the eight official White House Twitter accounts and a few entertaining tweets.

Did you know that there are eight official White House Twitter accounts? Each White House account provides a different view into the Obama administration: Chief Official White House Photographer Pete Souza takes you behind the scenes in pictures, Press Secretary Robert Gibbs answers your Twitter questions, and New Media Director Macon Phillips wants to hear how you think government can use technology to be more responsive and transparent.

Here’s a look at all of our Twitter accounts, along with a few favorite tweets:

@whitehouse - The White House (1,882,850 followers)


@lacasablanca - La Casa Blanca (5,878 followers)


@PressSec - Press Secretary Robert Gibbs (113,918 followers)


@billburton44 - Deputy Press Secretary Bill Burton (15,995 followers)


@petesouza - Chief Official White House Photographer Pete Souza (7,343 followers)


@macon44 - New Media Director Macon Phillips (3,927 followers)


@whitehouseostp - The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (108,942 followers)


@OpenGov - The White House Open Government Initiative (117,163 followers)