Principal Statistical Agencies and Recognized Units

Some of the documents on this page were created as PDFs
Click here for PDF assistance PDF Information


The Federal statistical system comprises over 125 agencies or units that engage in statistical activities. A substantial portion of our official statistics is produced by the 13 agencies that have statistical work as their principal mission. In addition, 3 statistical units (subcomponents of agencies) are recognized as having statistical work as their principal mission.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (Department of Commerce);

Bureau of Justice Statistics (Department of Justice);

Bureau of Labor Statistics (Department of Labor);

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (Department of Transportation);

Census Bureau (Department of Commerce);

Economic Research Service (Department of Agriculture);

Energy Information Administration (Department of Energy);

National Agricultural Statistics Service (Department of Agriculture);

National Center for Education Statistics (Department of Education);

National Center for Health Statistics (Department of Health and Human Services);

National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation);

Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics (Social Security Administration);

Statistics of Income Division (Department of the Treasury);

Microeconomic Surveys Unit, (Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve System);

Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (Department of Health and Human Services); and

National Animal Health Monitoring System, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (Department of Agriculture).