President Obama Announces Gene Sperling as NEC Chair and Other Economic Staff

President Barack Obama announces Gene Sperling as the new director of the National Economic Council, along with Jason Furman as Assistant to the President for Economic Policy, Heather Higginbottom as his nominee for Deputy Director of the Office of Management and Budget, and Katharine G. Abraham as a nominee for the Council of Economic Advisers while speaking about the economy at Thompson Creek Manufacturing, which makes custom replacement windows in Landover, Md, Jan. 7, 2011. (Official White House Photo by Pete Souza)