This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

Background the Reno, Nevada Town Hall

11:50 AM PDT

On Thursday, the President will conduct his third town hall meeting in three days and discuss his plan for getting America’s finances in order through shared responsibility and shared prosperity at ElectraTherm in Reno, Nevada.

ElectraTherm, Inc. is a small renewable energy company (45 employees) headquartered in Reno, Nevada. ElectraTherm's product, the Green Machine, generates fuel-free, emission-free power from low to mid temperature waste heat using the Organic Rankine Cycle and patented technology. ElectraTherm is an example of a company where smart investments in clean energy are creating good jobs and growing our economy.

In September of 2010, the Department of Energy announced that ElectraTherm was awarded approximately $982,000 to research, develop, and demonstrate the financial and technical viability of using a new method to produce electricity. This announcement was part of a larger, $20 million initiative by DOE to boost the development of innovative geothermal technologies that can reduce demand for fossil fuels, reduce carbon pollution, and create new clean energy jobs.

The audience of approximately 400 people will consist of ElectraTherm employees and their guests, local community college students and faculty from Truckee Meadows Community College, local leaders and invited guests.

Officials expected to greet on the tarmac

Governor Brian Sandoval and family
Representative Shelley Berkley
Mayor Bob Cashell, Reno

Officials expected to attend the event

Representative Shelley Berkley
Lt. Governor Brian Krolicki
Mayor Bob Cashell, Reno
Ross Miller, Nevada Secretary of State
Kate Marshall, Nevada State Treasurer
Kim Wallin, Nevada State Controller
Catherine Cortez Masto, Nevada Attorney General
Steven Horsford, Senate Majority Leader
John Oceguera, Speaker, Nevada Assembly
Wayne Burke, Chairman, Pyramid Lake Paiute Tribe
Arlan Menendez, Chairman, Reno-Sparks Indian Colony
John Breternitz, Chair, Washoe County Commission