This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama, Dr. Jill Biden to Honor Teachers of the Year

WASHINGTON, DC – On Tuesday, President Obama will honor the 2011 National Teacher of the Year and State Teachers of the Year, thanking them for their hard work and dedication each and every day in the classroom.  The President believes that the education of our children is critical to our nation’s success as we compete in a 21st century global economy.  We must make the investments in education and continue to inspire innovation, raise graduation rates, and ultimately out-educate our global competitors.
On Monday afternoon, Dr. Jill Biden, an educator of 30 years, will host a reception honoring the 2011 State Teachers of the Year at the Vice President’s Residence at the U.S. Naval Observatory in Washington, DC. This is the third year in a row that Dr. Biden will host this group of accomplished teachers at the Naval Observatory. Portions of this event will be pooled press.
The National Teacher of the Year is chosen from among the State Teachers of the Year by a national selection committee representing the major national education organizations convened by the Council of Chief State School Officers.
Members of the media who would like to cover the Teacher of the Year ceremony must contact before 12 PM ET Monday, May 2.  Members of the media who do not have a White House hard pass must also submit their full name, date of birth, Social Security number, gender, country of birth, country of citizenship and current city and state of residence.
DR. JILL BIDEN will host a reception and deliver remarks honoring the 2011 National Teachers of the Year finalists
3:30 PM EDT
U.S. Naval Observatory
Portions of this event will be pooled press

THE PRESIDENT will deliver remarks honoring the Teacher of the Year
11:25 AM EDT
Rose Garden
Open Press

The 2011 State Teachers of the Year:
Phil Rodney Wilson

Ogletree Elementary School
Music, 1-5
Lorrie Heagy

Glacier Valley Elementary School
Music and Library, K-5
American Samoa
Gingerlei Maga Uili

Lauli'i Elementary School
Mathematics, 7
Amanda McAdams

Apollo High School
English, 10
Kathy Powers

Raymond and Phyllis Simon
Intermediate School
Reading, Language Arts, 5-6
Darin Curtis

Tierra Del Sol Middle School
Physical Education, 8
Michelle Line Pearson

Hulstrom Options School K-8
Language Arts, Social Studies, 6-8
Kristen Ann Record

Frank Scott Bunnell High School
Physics, 9-12
Joseph P. Masiello

Cab Calloway School of the Arts
English, 6
Department of Defense Education Activity
Angelica L. Jordan

Mannheim Elementary School
Spanish, Elementary
District of Columbia
Jon Nathaniel Rolle

Friendship Public Charter School-Southeast Elementary Campus
Elementary, 3
Cheryl Conley

Osceola Magnet Elementary School
Elementary, 4
Pamela Lynch Williams

Appling County High School
Social Sciences, 9-12
Kristen Lum Brummel

Noelani Elementary School
Elementary, 4
Stefani S. Cook

Rigby High School
Business Education, 10-12
Annice M. Brave

Alton High School
English, Journalism, 11-12
Stacy A. McCormack

Penn High School
Chemistry, Physics, General Science, 11-12
Molly Boyle

Brookview Elementary School
Reading, 3
Curtis Chandler

Wamego Middle School
Language Arts, 8
Erika Schmelzer Webb

East Jessamine High School
English/Language Arts, 11
Julia Williams

Lafayette High School
Mathematics, 9-11
Shelly Moody

Williams Elementary School
Elementary, 3-4 Looping
Michelle M. Shearer

Urbana High School
Chemistry, 10-12
Floris Wilma Ortiz

Amherst Regional Middle School
ESL, 7-8
Matinga E. Ragatz
Grand Ledge High School
Social Studies, World Languages, 9-12
Ryan M. Vernosh

Maxfield Magnet School
Elementary, 5
Brad A. Shonk

Gorenflo Elementary School
Mathematics, 4
Robert Becker

Kirkwood High School
Chemistry, 10-12
Paul Andersen

Bozeman High School
Biology, 9-12
Robert E. Feurer

North Bend Central Public Schools
Science, 7, 11-12
Cheryl Macy

Carson High School
English, 9-12
New Hampshire
Angie C. Miller

Holderness Central School
Language Arts, 6-8
New Jersey
Danielle Kovach

Tulsa Trail Elementary School
Elementary, 3
New Mexico
Diana S. Fesmire

Chaparral Middle School
Mathematics, 6
New York
Jeffry Peneston

Liverpool High School
Earth Science, 9
North Carolina
Jennifer Joyner Facciolini

Midway High School
Social Studies, 9-12
North Dakota
Karen Jaclyn Toavs

Williston Middle School
Language Arts, 8
Northern Mariana Islands
Raena S. Bermudes

Gregorio T. Camacho Elementary School
Elementary, 3
Natalie Y. Wester

Gearity Professional Development School
Elementary, 3
Elizabeth Smith

Byng Junior High School
Reading, 7
Colleen M. Works

Corvallis High School
U.S. History, Government, Sociology, 9-12
Jeffrey S. Chou

Highland Elementary School
Elementary, 6
Rhode Island
Shannon G. Donovan

Scituate High School
Science, 9-12
South Carolina
Kelly Hall Nalley

Fork Shoals School
Spanish, 2-5
South Dakota
Susan Turnipseed

Camelot Intermediate School
Technology, 4
Cheryl D. Deaton

Pigeon Forge Primary School
Reading, Math, Social Studies, 4
Daniel Leija

Esparza Elementary School
Math and Science, 5
Gay Beck

Highland Elementary School
Elementary, K
Jennifer Erin Lawson

Vergennes Union High School
Language Arts and Social Studies, 7-8
Virgin Islands
Daniela C. Roumou

Lockhart Elementary School
Elementary, 4
LaTonya E. Waller

Lucille M. Brown Middle School
Science, 6, 8
Jay W. Maebori

Kentwood High School
Language Arts, 10-12
West Virginia
Drema McNeal

Park Middle School
Language Arts, 6
Maureen Look-Ainsworth

Horning Middle School
Science, 8
Laurie Lynn Graves

Big Horn Elementary School
Math, Language Arts, Social Studies, Science, 3