This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama Signs Montana Disaster Declaration

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Montana and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms occurring on April 3, 8, 22, 26, and 30, 2011, and on May 9-10, 18-21, and 30, 2011, and flooding resulting from those storms beginning on April 4, 2011, and continuing.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding in the counties of Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Garfield, Golden Valley, Hill, Judith Basin, McCone, Meagher, Musselshell,  Petroleum, Phillips, Powder River, Prairie, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweet Grass,  Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux, and Yellowstone, and the Crow, Fort Belknap, Northern Cheyenne, and Rocky Boy’s Reservations.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the State.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Douglas G. Mayne as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.