This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

Presidential Nominations and Withdrawal Sent to the Senate


Ashton B. Carter, of Massachusetts, to be Deputy Secretary of Defense, vice William J. Lynn, III.

Irvin Charles McCullough III, of Maryland, to be Inspector General of the Intelligence Community, Office of the Director of National Intelligence. (New Position)

Ernest Mitchell, Jr., of California, to be Administrator of the United States Fire Administration, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Department of Homeland Security, vice Kelvin James Cochran, resigned.

Nancy Maria Ware, of the District of Columbia, to be Director of the Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency for the District of Columbia for a term of six years, vice Paul A. Quander, Jr., term expired.

Gregory Howard Woods, of New York, to be General Counsel of the Department of Energy, vice Scott Blake Harris, resigned.


Leon Rodriguez, of Maryland, to be Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, Department of Labor, vice Paul DeCamp, which was sent to the Senate on January 5, 2011.