This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama Signs a Disaster Declaration for the Republic of the Marshall Islands

The President today declared a disaster under the Compact of Free Association between the Government of the United States of America and the Government of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, as amended, due to the ongoing severe drought in the northern half of the country.  

The President's action makes federal funding available for U.S. Government emergency relief and reconstruction assistance to the Republic of the Marshall Islands in accordance with Public Law 108-188, as amended, including Article X of the Federal Programs and Services Agreement to the Compact of Free Association.  Republic of the Marshall Islands President Loeak requested a disaster declaration on June 5, 2013.

The United States Agency for International Development’s Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance will coordinate U.S. Government disaster assistance efforts in conjunction with the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency and the government of the Marshall Islands.