This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama Signs Wisconsin Disaster Declaration

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Wisconsin and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, flooding, and mudslides during the period of June 20-28, 2013.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and mudslides in Ashland, Bayfield, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Richland, St. Croix, and Vernon Counties and the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa in Bayfield County.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the state.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Warren J. Riley as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. 

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.