This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

Expected Attendees at the White House Iftar Dinner

This evening, the President will continue a White House tradition of hosting an Iftar celebrating Ramadan in the State Dining Room.  This is the sixth Iftar hosted by the President.  The Iftar is the meal that breaks the day of fasting, when Muslim families and communities eat together after sunset. This year, the President will be celebrating Muslim Americans working tirelessly to fight income inequality and creating opportunities for all.

Below is a list of some of the expected attendees at tonight’s White House dinner celebrating Ramadan:

Members of Congress:

  • The Honorable Andre Carson, United States Representative, Indiana
  • The Honorable Keith Ellison, United States Representative, Minnesota
  • The Honorable Dan Kildee, United States Representative, Michigan

Local Elected Officials:

  • Mayor Saud Anwar, South Windsor, CT

Diplomatic Corps:

  • Mr. Suleiman Abulhul, Charge d'Affaires of Libya
  • His Excellency Lukman Al Faily, The Republic of Iraq
  • Her Excellency Amina Ali, Ambassador of the African Union Mission
  • Her Excellency Hunaina Al Mughairy, Sultanate of Oman
  • His Excellency Yousef Al Otaiba, United Arab Emirates
  • His Excellency Adel Ahmed Al-Jubeir, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • His Excellency Mohammed Al Sharif, League of Arab States
  • His Excellency Shaikh Abdulla Mohamed Alkhalifa, Ambassador of the Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Mr. Adel Ali Ahmed Alsunaini, Charge d'Affaires of Yemen
  • His Excellency Maen Areikat, Chief of the PLO Delegation
  • His Excellency Omar Arouna, Republic of Benin
  • His Excellency Abdallah Baali, People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria
  • His Excellency Seydou Bouda, Burkina Faso
  • His Excellency Mohammed Rachad Bouhlal, Kingdom of Morocco
  • Her Excellency Alia Bouran, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • His Excellency Budi Bowoleksono, Republic of Indonesia
  • His Excellency Antoine Chedid, Lebanese Republic
  • His Excellency Mhamed Chelaifa, Tunisian Republic
  • Mr. Mohamed Al Moustapha Cisse, Charge d'Affaires of the Republic of Mali
  • His Excellency Ron Dermer, State of Israel
  • His Excellency Daouda Diabate, Republic of Cote D'ivoire
  • His Excellency Muktar Djumaliev, Republic Of Kyrgz
  • His Excellency Mohamed El Haycen, Republic Of Mauritania
  • His Excellency Bienvenu Foe-Atangana, Republic Of Cameroon
  • The Honorable Sheikh Omar Faye, Republic of Gambia
  • His Excellency Gilbert Galanxhi, Republic of Albania
  • His Excellency Bakhtiyar Gulyamov, Republic Of Uzbekistan
  • His Excellency Eklil Hakimi, Islamic Republic Of Afghanistan
  • His Excellency Dato Hamid, Brunei Darussalam
  • His Excellency Awang Hussin, Malaysia
  • His Excellency Akan Ismaili, Republic of Kosovo
  • His Excellency S. Jaishankar, Republic of India
  • His Excellency Jalil Jilani, Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  • Her Excellency Jean Kamau, Republic of Kenya
  • His Excellency Bayney Karran, Cooperative Country of Guyana
  • His Excellency Serdar Kilic, Republic of Turkey
  • His Excellency Michael Moussa-Adamo, Ambassador of the Gabonese Republic
  • His Excellency Stanislas Moussa-Kembe, Central African Republic
  • His Excellency Muhammad Muhith, People’s Republic of Bangladesh
  • Her Excellency Libereta Mulamula, United Republic of Tanzania
  • His Excellency Subhas Mungra, Ambassador of the Republic of Suriname
  • His Excellency Hassane Nasser, Republic of Chad
  • Her Excellency Jadranka Negodic, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • His Excellency Cheikh Niang, Republic of Senegal
  • His Excellency Roble Olhaye, Ambassador of Djibouti
  • His Excellency Sharmarke Omar, Federal Republic of Somalia
  • His Excellency Farhod Salim, Republic of Tajikistan
  • His Excellency Maman Sidikou, Ambassador of the Republic of Niger
  • His Excellency Elin Suleymanov, Republic of Azerbaijan
  • Her Excellency Amelia Sumbana, Republic of Mozambique
  • His Excellency Mohamed Tawfik, Arab Republic of Egypt
  • His Excellency Kairat Umarov, Republic of Kazakhstan