This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

Readout of the President’s Meeting on the United States’ Ebola Response

The President met this afternoon with his senior health, homeland security, and national security advisors to receive an update on the Ebola case in Texas, broader domestic preparedness plans, and U.S. and international efforts to contain and end the epidemic in West Africa. The President and his team discussed the progress health officials in Texas have made in identifying and monitoring the contacts of the patient in Dallas. The team reviewed the measures that have been in place for weeks in preparation for this contingency, and underscored their confidence that the nation’s health infrastructure is prepared and able to prevent an outbreak here at home.  Participants also discussed options to enhance airport screening in the United States and the need to tackle Ebola at its source in West Africa, where the United States has launched a civilian-led whole-of-government effort that leverages the unique capabilities of the U.S. military to help bring the epidemic under control.  Finally, the President reiterated that the epidemic is a top national security priority, and that we will continue to do everything necessary to address it.


  • The Vice President (via secure videoconference)
  • John Kerry, Secretary of State
  • Chuck Hagel, Secretary of Defense
  • General Martin Dempsey, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Sylvia Burwell, Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Jeh Johnson, Secretary of Homeland Security
  • Rajiv Shah, Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development
  • Samantha Power, Representative of the United States of America to the United Nations
  • Dr. Thomas Frieden, Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Denis McDonough, White House Chief of Staff
  • John Podesta, Counselor to the President
  • Susan Rice, National Security Advisor
  • Valerie Jarrett, Senior Advisor to the President
  • Neil Eggleston, Counsel to the President
  • Shaun Donovan, Director of the Office of Management and Budget
  • Dr. John Holdren, Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Antony Blinken, Deputy National Security Advisor
  • Lisa Monaco, Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism
  • Suzanne George, Executive Secretary and Chief of Staff of the National Security Council
  • Rand Beers, Deputy Assistant to the President for Homeland Security
  • Colin Kahl, National Security Advisor to the Vice President
  • Katie Fallon, Director of the Office of Legislative Affairs
  • Gayle Smith, Senior Director for Development and Democracy, National Security Council