This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
For Immediate Release

Media Advisory: National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) Subcommittee to Sponsor Oil Spill Science Investigators Conference

DATES: October 5-6, 2010

LOCATION: Hosted by the University of South Florida
Don CeSar Resort
3400 Gulf Boulevard
St. Petersburg, FL 33706

The NSTC’s Joint Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (JSOST) will sponsor a two-day forum for scientific investigators working on BP/Deepwater Horizon oil spill-related research in St. Petersburg, FL on October 5-6. In conjunction with the University of South Florida, which is hosting the event, the meeting will provide an opportunity for scientists from public, private, and academic institutions to exchange overviews of research, monitoring, and sampling projects; form new collaborations; interact with federal agency scientists and staff; and make recommendations for long-term research priorities.

This two-day meeting is targeted at academic, government, and other researchers who have conducted or will conduct research related to the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. About 110 participants are expected. The first day of plenary and breakout sessions will focus on what has been done; day two will concentrate on what still needs to be done.


  • Dr. Larry Robinson, Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere, NOAA
  • Dr. Jerry Miller, Co-Chair, JSOST, Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Dr. Steve Murawski, Co-Chair, JSOST, NOAA
  • Dr. David Conover, Director, Division of Ocean Sciences, NSF



Plenary sessions will be open press; breakout sessions will be closed press.

The National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) was established by Executive Order on November 23, 1993. This Cabinet-level Council is the principal means within the Executive Branch to coordinate science and technology policy across the diverse entities that make up the Federal research and development enterprise. Chaired by the President, the membership of the NSTC is made up of the Vice President, the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Cabinet Secretaries and Agency Heads with significant science and technology responsibilities, and other White House officials. NSTC is administered by the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). OSTP was created by Congress in 1976 to serve as a source of scientific and technological analysis and judgment for the President with respect to major policies, plans, and programs of the federal government. For more information, visit For more information about JSOST please visit: