This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
For Immediate Release

Background On The National Defense Authorization Act Signing


Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release                                                                                                October 28, 2009



2:30 PM

The President will deliver remarks and sign the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2010.

Secretary of Defense Robert Gates will introduce the President, and the following officials will join them on stage for the bill signing:

• Vice President Joseph Biden
• Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman Adm. Mike Mullen
• Chairman Carl Levin, D-MI, Senate Armed Services Committee
• Senator Bill Nelson, D-FL
• Senator Jack Reed, D-RI 
• Chairman Ike Skelton, D-MO, House Armed Services Committee
• Representative Neil Abercrombie, D-HI
• Representative Susan Davis, D-CA
• Representative Solomon Ortiz, D-TX
• Representative Jim Langevin, D-RI
• Representative Rob Andrews, D-NJ
• Representative  Adam Smith, D-WA

The audience of approximately 150 guests will include Attorney General Eric Holder, Members of Congress, Department of Defense senior civilian and military officials, the Shepherd and Byrd families, Mrs. Vicki Kennedy, and members of the Kennedy family.

Expected attendees include:
• Deputy Secretary of Defense William Lynn
• Senator Max Baucus, D-MT
• Senator Patrick Leahy, D-VT
• Senator Jeff Merkley, D-OR
• Senator Al Franken, D-MN
• Representative John Spratt, D-SC
• Representative Todd Platts, R-PA
• Representative Silvestre Reyes, D-TX
• Representative Loretta Sanchez, D-CA
• Representative Jim Cooper, D-TN
• Representative Hank Johnson, D-GA
• Representative Gabrielle Giffords, D-AZ
• Representative Glenn Nye, D-VA
• Representative Larry Kissell, D-NC
• Representative Rick Larsen, D-WA
• Representative Jim Marshall, D-GA
• Representative Madeleine Bordallo, D-GU
• Representative Carol Shea-Porter, D- NH
• Representative Joe Courtney, D-CT
• Representative Chellie Pingree, D-ME
• Representative Ron Klein, D-FL
• Representative Tammy Baldwin, D-WI
• Representative Jerrold Nadler, D-NY