This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

Background on the President's Export Council Announcement Event Today

The President will announce the members of the President’s Export Council and deliver remarks in the East Room on the administration’s commitment to export promotion to grow the economy and support new American jobs. Secretary Gary Locke and Jim McNerney – Chairman, President & CEO of The Boeing Company and Chair of the President’s Export Council – will join the President on-stage.  Secretary Gary Locke will introduce the President.  The audience will be comprised of members of the President’s Export Council (PEC) as well as business, labor and community leaders.

Prior to the event in the East Room the President will conduct a closed press meeting in the Roosevelt Room with the following PEC members:

*At the conclusion of the meeting, the below participants will proceed to the East Room.

Secretary of Commerce Gary Locke
Stephanie A. Burns, Chairman, President & CEO, Dow Corning Corporation
Scott Davis, Chairman & CEO, UPS
Richard Friedman, President & CEO, Carpenter & Company, Inc.
Gene Hale, President & Founder, G&C Equipment Corporation
C. Robert Henrikson, Chairman, President & CEO, MetLife, Inc.
William Hite, General President, United Association
Robert A. Mandell, Chairman & CEO, Greater Properties
Jim McNerney, Chairman, President & CEO, The Boeing Company
Raul Pedraza, Founder & President, Magno International, L.P.
Ivan Seidenberg, Chairman & CEO, Verizon
Glenn Tilton, Chairman, President and CEO, UAL Corporation and Chairman & CEO, United Air Lines
James S. Turley, Chairman & CEO, Ernst & Young
Patricia Woertz, Chairman of the Board, CEO & President, Archer Daniels Midland Company


Deputy Secretary of State Jack Lew
Secretary of the Treasury Tim Geithner
Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack
Deputy Secretary of Labor Seth Harris
Secretary of Energy Steven Chu
Director of the Office of Management and Budget Peter Orszag
United States Trade Representative Ambassador Ron Kirk
Chair of the Council of Economic Advisors Christina Romer
Assistant to the President for Economic Policy Larry Summers
President of the Export-Import Bank Fred Hochberg
Director of the US Trade and Development Agency Leocadia Zak