This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

Background On The Presidents Rose Garden Event With Doctors From Across The Country

Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                        October 5, 2009

Four doctors will stand on stage behind the President during his remarks.
Dr. Hershey Garner (Fayetteville, Arkansas)
Dr. Garner earned his B.B.A. in Management/Finance from Baylor University in 1975, completed his Juris Doctor in 1980 at Baylor, and received his M.D. from the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences Campus in 1986.  Currently residing and working in Northwest Arkansas, Dr. Garner practices Radiation Oncology.
Dr. Mona Mangat (St. Petersburg, Florida)
Dr. Mangat is Board Certified in Allergy/Immunology, Internal Medicine and Pediatrics. She completed her Allergy/Immunology fellowship at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, MI and her combined Internal Medicine/Pediatrics residency at University of Tennessee, Memphis/LeBonheur Children’s Medical Center. Dr. Mangat received her medical degree at the six year combined BS/MD program at Kent State University and Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine.  Dr. Mangat has been in solo private practice since 2007 in St. Petersburg, FL where she resides with her four children and husband.
Dr. Richard A. Evans (Dover-Foxcroft, Maine)
Dr. Evans is currently the President of the Medical Staff and member of the Board of Trustees at the Mayo Regional Hospital in Dover-Foxcroft, ME.  Dr. Evans has been in private practice as a general surgeon at the Mayo Regional Hospital since 2003.  Prior to that time he served as Medical Staff President at Downeast Community Hospital in Machias, ME and as a general surgeon, Flight Surgeon and Hospital Commander in the U.S. Air Force. During his Air Force career, he was based out of several states including Nebraska, Missouri, South Dakota and Maine.  He also served as President of the Maine Medical Association from 2001-2002.  Dr. Evans completed his general surgery residency at the Cooper Medical Center in Camden, NJ in 1980.  He received his Bachelor’s of Science degree from Howard University in Washington, DC and his medical degree from Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA.
Dr. Amanda McKinney (Beatrice, Nebraska)
Dr. McKinney grew up in rural Nebraska (Odell, pop. 300) and attended Doane College in Crete, NE where she was an Academic All American in the heptathlon. She attended the University of Nebraska Medical Center for medical school and completed a year of Obstetrics and Gynecology residency before transferring to the University of California, Irvine to complete her residency. She remained in Irvine for a year-long fellowship in Urogynecology. Upon completion Dr. McKinney moved back to Beatrice, NE where she currently practices.

The audience will be composed of approximately 150 doctors, including the doctors listed below, representing all 50 states.
Dr. Paul Davis (Perryville, AK)
Dr. Sonia Vishin (Birmingham, AL)
Dr. Hershey Garner (Fayetteville, AR)
Dr. Susan Wilder (Scottsdale, AZ)
Dr. Alice Chen (Los Angeles, CA)
Dr. Lila Rosenthal (Boulder, CO)
Dr. Dan Fass (Riverside, CT)
Dr. Michael Newman (Washington, DC)
Dr. Robert Walter (Wilmington, DE)
Dr. Mona Mangat (St. Petersburg, FL)
Dr. Jason Schneider (Atlanta, GA)
Dr. Felicia Froe (Honolulu, HI)
Dr. Peter Kaboli (Iowa City, IA)
Dr. Timothy McHugh (Meridian, ID)
Dr. Ram Krishnamoorthi (Chicago, IL)
Dr. Andrew Loehrer (Indianapolis, IN)
Dr. Robyn Liu (Tribune, KS)
Dr. Susan Bornstein (Louisville, KY)
Dr. Stanton "Mark" McKenna (New Orleans, LA)
Dr. Vivek Murthy (Boston, MA)
Dr. Zaneb Beams (Ellicott City, MD)
Dr. Richard Evans (Dover-Foxcroft, ME)
Dr. Stephen Patrick (Ann Arbor, MI)
Dr. Nathan Bahr (Minneapolis, MN)
Dr. Hope Tinker (Fayette, MO)
Dr. Persharon Dixon (Biloxi, MS)
Dr. Meg Sarnecki (Missoula, MT)
Dr. Dain Vines (Raleigh, NC)
Dr. Biron Baker (Bismarck, ND)
Dr. Amanda McKinney (Beatrice, NE)
Dr. Nick Perencevich (Concord, NH)
Dr. Sanjay Gupta  (Cherry Hill, NJ)
Dr. Elaine Bradshaw (Santa Fe, NM)
Dr. Arezo Fathie (Las Vegas, NV)
Dr. Alexander Blum (New York, NY)
Dr. Peter Embi (Cincinnati, OH)
Dr. Boyd Shook (Oklahoma City, OK)
Dr. Anita Henderson (Bend, OR)
Dr. John Maris (Philadelphia, PA)
Dr. Nirali Bora (Providence, RI)
Dr. Tracy Nelson  (Myrtle Beach, SC)
Dr. Nancy Babbitt (Rapid City, SD)
Dr. Jill Jones (Nashville, TN)
Dr. Winfred Parnell (Dallas, TX)
Dr. Robin Poppen (Sandy, UT)
Dr. Riva Kamat (Fairfax, VA)
Dr. James Wallace (Burlington, VT)
Dr. Gary Goldbaum (Everett, WA)
Dr. Jan Sarnecki (Neenah, WI)
Dr. Zarpash Babar (Charleston, WV)
Dr. William Portilla (Laramie, WY)