This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

FACT SHEET: U.S. - Russia Joint Commission on POW/MIAs


Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release                                                           July 6, 2009

U.S. – Russia Joint Commission on POW/MIAs

In an exchange of diplomatic notes on July 6, the United States and the Russian Federation reached a common understanding on a framework for the U.S. – Russia Joint Commission on Prisoners of War and Missing in Action (POW/MIAs).  The Commission serves as a forum through which both nations seek to determine the fates of their missing servicemen.
This exchange restores in full the important work of the Joint Commission and demonstrates the unwavering commitment both our countries have toward our servicemen and women.
The U.S. side of the Joint Commission is chaired by  General Robert H. "Doc" Foglesong, USAF (ret) U.S. Commission members include Senators Saxby Chambliss and John F. Kerry; Representative and former Vietnam War POW Sam Johnson; Amb. Charles Ray, DASD for POW/MIA Affairs; Mr. A. Denis Clift, President of the Joint Military Intelligence College; Dr. Timothy Nenninger of the National Archives; a Department of State Deputy Assistant Secretary, and Mr. Norman Kass, Department of Defense, who serves as the Executive Secretary.
The Commission’s Russian Side is comprised of senior officials from the ministries of Defense, Internal Affairs, Foreign Affairs, the Russian archives, Federal Security Service, Foreign Intelligence Service and the Russian Federation’s Presidential Commission on POWs, Internees and Missing in Action.
The Commission will pursue its goals through four working groups, which seek to account for personnel from World War II; the Korean War; the Vietnam War, and the Cold War, including Soviet military personnel unaccounted for in Afghanistan.