This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

President Obama Announces Additional Members of Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships

Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                         April 6, 2009
President Obama Announces Additional Members of Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships
Washington – President Barack Obama today announced additional members of the President’s Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships.  The Advisory Council is part of the White House Office of Faith Based and Neighborhood Partnerships and is composed of religious and secular leaders and scholars from different backgrounds.
Each member of the Council is appointed to a one-year term.  The members of the Council are:
Diane Baillargeon, President & CEO, Seedco
New York , NY
*Anju Bhargava, Founder, Asian Indian Women of America
New Jersey
*Bishop Charles Blake, Presiding Bishop, Church of God in Christ
Los Angeles, CA
Noel Castellanos, CEO, Christian Community Development Association
Chicago, IL
*The Rev. Peg Chemberlin, President-Elect, National Council of Churches USA
Minneapolis, MN
Dr. Arturo Chavez, President & CEO, Mexican American Catholic College
San Antonio , TX
Fred Davie, Senior Adviser, Public/Private Ventures
New York , NY
*Nathan Diament, Director of Public Policy, Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations of America
Washington, DC
Pastor Joel C. Hunter, Senior Pastor, Northland, a Church Distributed
Longwood, FL
*Harry Knox, Director, Religion and Faith Program, Human Rights Campaign
Washington, DC
Bishop Vashti M. McKenzie, Presiding Bishop, 13th Episcopal District, African Methodist Episcopal Church
Knoxville, TN
*Dalia Mogahed, Executive Director, Gallup Center for Muslim Studies
Washington, DC
Rev. Otis Moss, Jr., Pastor emeritus, Olivet Institutional Baptist Church
Cleveland, OH
Dr. Frank S. Page, President emeritus, Southern Baptist Convention
Taylors, SC
Eboo S. Patel, Founder & Executive Director, Interfaith Youth Core
Chicago, IL
*Anthony Picarello, General Counsel , United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Washington, DC
*Nancy Ratzan, National President, National Council of Jewish Women
Miami, FL
Melissa Rogers, Director, Wake Forest School of Divinity Center for Religion and Public Affairs
Winston-Salem , NC
Rabbi David N. Saperstein, Director & Counsel, Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism
Washington , DC
Dr. William J. Shaw, President, National Baptist Convention, USA
Philadelphia , PA
Father Larry J. Snyder, President, Catholic Charities USA
Alexandria , VA
Richard Stearns, President, World Vision
Bellevue , WA
Judith N. Vredenburgh, President and Chief Executive Officer, Big Brothers / Big Sisters of America
Philadelphia , PA
Rev. Jim Wallis, President & Executive Director, Sojourners
Washington , DC
*Dr. Sharon Watkins, General Minister and President, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
Indianapolis, IN
NOTE: Members marked with an asterisk were announced today. The White House Office for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships will be a resource for nonprofits and community organizations, both secular and faith based, looking for ways to make a bigger impact in their communities, learn their obligations under the law, cut through red tape, and make the most of what the federal government has to offer.  Other members of the Advisory Council were announced earlier this year.
# #