This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama Names Two to Serve as U.S. Marshals, 6/17/10

WASHINGTON – Today, President Obama nominated James Thomas Fowler and Craig E. Thayer to serve as U.S. Marshals.

“These law enforcement professionals have demonstrated a selfless dedication to public service throughout their careers,” said President Obama.   “I am grateful for their willingness to serve and protect the American people.”

James Thomas Fowler: Nominee for United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Tennessee

James Fowler began his law enforcement career with the Knoxville Police Department, and joined the U.S. Marshals in 1989.  Since then, he has worked as a Deputy Marshal in both the Eastern and Middle Districts of Tennessee.  Fowler is a graduate of Columbia Southern University.  His father, Joe Fowler, served as the U.S. Marshal for the same district in the 1990s.

Craig E. Thayer: Nominee for United States Marshal for the Eastern District of Washington

Craig Ellis Thayer is currently serving his sixteenth year as the elected Sheriff of Stevens County in Colville, Washington.  He began his association with the Sheriff’s Office in 1972, and worked his way up through the ranks to his current position.  Mr. Thayer received his Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice and Juris Doctorate degree from Gonzaga University.  He is a graduate of the FBI National Academy, the National Sheriffs’ Institute, and the Northwest Law Enforcement Executive Command College.  Mr. Thayer is a past president of both the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs and the Washington State Sheriffs’ Association.