This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

President Obama Nominates Nancy Freudenthal, Judge D. Price Marshall Jr. and Judge Benita Pearson to Serve on the District Court Bench

WASHINGTON, DC – President Obama announced today that he has nominated Nancy Freudenthal, Judge D. Price Marshall Jr. and Judge Benita Pearson to serve on the District Court bench.  Freudenthal is a nominee for the District of Wyoming, Marshall for the Eastern District of Arkansas and Pearson for the Northern District of Ohio.

“Throughout their careers, these nominees have displayed unwavering commitment to justice and integrity,” said President Obama.  “Their records of public service are distinguished and impressive and I am confident that they will serve the American people well from the United States District Court bench.  I am honored to nominate them today.”

Nancy D. Freudenthal: Nominee for the District of Wyoming
Nancy D. Freudenthal is a litigation partner at Davis & Cannon, LLP, in Cheyenne, Wyoming.  From 1980 to 1989, she worked as an attorney in the Wyoming Governor's office for intergovernmental affairs.  In 1989, she was made chairman of the Wyoming Tax Commission, and then served as chairman of the board of the Wyoming Board of Equalization, where she worked until 1995.  She joined Davis & Cannon in 1995 as an associate, and became a partner in 1998.  Mrs. Freudenthal received a B.A. from the University of Wyoming in 1976 and a J.D. from its College of Law in 1980. 

Judge D. Price Marshall Jr.: Nominee for the Eastern District of Arkansas
Judge Denzil Price Marshall Jr. has served as a judge on the Arkansas Court of Appeals since 2006.  Prior to that, he practiced law for fifteen years in Jonesboro, Arkansas, where he was a principal with the firm of Barrett & Deacon and earned a reputation as one of the top appellate advocates in Arkansas.  From 1989-1991, he clerked for U.S. Circuit Judge Richard S. Arnold.  Since 2004, Judge Marshall has also served as Reporter for the Arkansas Supreme Court Committee on Civil Practice.  Judge Marshall received his B.A. in 1985 from Arkansas State University - Jonesboro, where he currently serves as adjunct faculty teaching political science.  He earned his M.Sc. in 1986 from the London School of Economics and Political Science and his J.D. in 1989 from Harvard Law School. 

Judge Benita Y. Pearson: Nominee for the Northern District of Ohio
Judge Benita Y. Pearson is a Federal Magistrate Judge in the Northern District of Ohio, a position she has held since 2008.  From 2000 to 2008, she was an Assistant United States Attorney in Cleveland.  From 1998 to 2000, she worked as an associate with Jones Day Reavis & Pogue and from 1996 to 1998, she clerked for U.S. District Judge John Manos in the Northern District of Ohio.   Judge Pearson received her B.S. in Business Administration in 1985 and her J.D. in 1995 from the Cleveland-Marshall College of Law.