This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

President Obama Signs Major Disaster Declaration For North Dakota

Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                          March 24, 2009     
President Obama Signs Major Disaster Declaration For North Dakota
The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms and flooding beginning on March 13, 2009, and continuing.
Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in the counties of Adams, Barnes, Benson, Billings, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Dunn, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Sioux, Stark, Stutsman, Walsh, and Williams and the Standing Rock and Spirit Lake Indian Reservations for emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance.
Michael J. Hall has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area.
FEMA said that damage surveys have been requested and will be conducted as soon as the situation permits.