This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

Presidential Nominations Sent to the Senate, 3/24/09


Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                               March 24, 2009


Lael Brainard, of the District of Columbia, to be an Under Secretary of the Treasury, vice David H. McCormick, resigned.

Johnnie Carson, of Illinois, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (African Affairs), vice Jendayi Elizabeth Frazer, resigned.

Cynthia J. Giles, of Rhode Island, to be an Assistant Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, vice Granta Y. Nakayama, resigned.

Kristina M. Johnson, of Maryland, to be Under Secretary of Energy, vice Clarence H. Albright, resigned.

Harold Hongju Koh, of Connecticut, to be Legal Adviser of the Department of State, vice John B. Bellinger III, resigned.

Joe Leonard, Jr., of the District of Columbia, to be an Assistant Secretary of Agriculture, vice Margo M. McKay, resigned.