This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

Presidential Nominations Sent to the Senate, 5-6-09


Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                             May 6, 2009


Wilma A. Lewis, of the Virgin Islands, to be an Assistant Secretary of the Interior, vice C. Stephen Allred, resigned.

Carmen R. Nazario, of Puerto Rico, to be Assistant Secretary for Family Support, Department of Health and Human Services, vice Diane D. Rath.

Jane Oates, of New Jersey, to be an Assistant Secretary of Labor, vice Emily Stover DeRocco.

Tara Jeanne O'Toole, of Maryland, to be Under Secretary for Science and Technology, Department of Homeland Security, vice Jay M. Cohen, resigned.

Eric P. Schwartz, of New York, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (Population, Refugees, and Migration), vice Ellen R. Sauerbrey.

Andrew J. Shapiro, of New York, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (Political-Military Affairs), vice Mark Kimmitt, resigned.

Ellen O. Tauscher, of California, to be Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security, vice Robert Joseph, resigned.