This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

Presidential Nominations Sent To The Senate, 7-20-09


Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                    July 20, 2009


Daniel R. Elliott, III, of Ohio, to be a Member of the Surface Transportation Board for a term expiring December 31, 2013, vice W. Douglas Buttrey, term expired.
Lee Andrew Feinstein, of Virginia, to be Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the United States of America to the Republic of Poland.
John R. Fernandez, of Indiana, to be Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development, vice Santanu K. Baruah, resigned.
Jose Antonio Garcia, of Florida, to be Director of the Office of Minority Economic Impact, Department of Energy, vice Theresa Alvillar-Speake, resigned.
Gary S. Guzy, of the District of Columbia, to be Deputy Director of the Office of Environmental Quality. (New Position)
Robert D. Hormats, of New York, to be an Under Secretary of State (Economic, Energy, and Agricultural Affairs), vice Reuben Jeffery III, resigned.
Marvin Krislov, of Ohio, to be a Member of the National Council on the Humanities for a term expiring January 26, 2014, vice Celeste Colgan, term expired.
Jill Sommers, of Kansas, to be a Commissioner of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission for a term expiring April 13, 2014. (Reappointment)