This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House

White House Announces National Finalists for the 2009 2010 Class of White House Fellows

Office of the Press Secretary
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                     May 5, 2009
White House Announces National Finalists for the 2009-2010 Class of White House Fellows
WASHINGTON – The White House today announced that thirty outstanding men and women from across the country have been selected as National Finalists for the White House Fellows Program – the nation’s most prestigious program for leadership and public service. The National Finalists represent a diverse cross-section of professions, including business, medicine, law, non-profit sector, media, state government, finance, and education. Additionally, four branches of the military are represented among the National Finalists. A complete list of the National Finalists appears below.
The White House Fellows Program was founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson.  This non-partisan program offers exceptional men and women experience working at the highest levels of the federal government.  Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors and complete service activities throughout the year.  Following the program, Fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the country as national leaders and public servants.
This years National Finalists embody President and First Lady Obama’s commitment to public service.  Finalists were selected, in part, because of their exceptional record of incorporating service into their professional pursuits.  "This year’s finalists represent some of our nation’s most promising leaders." said First Lady Michelle Obama. "Most importantly, each one of the White House Fellow’s finalists has found a way to positively impact the lives of those around them."   
Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one’s career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the federal government. Throughout its history, the program has fostered leaders in many fields including former Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, former Secretary of State Colin Powell, retired U.S. Army General Wesley Clark, U.S. Senator Samuel Brownback, U.S. Representative Joe Barton, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, writer Doris Kearns Goodwin, former Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, former CNN Chairman and CEO Tom Johnson, managing partner of Nogales Investors and former Univision president Luis Nogales, and U.S. Court of Appeals Judges M. Margaret McKeown and Deanell Reece Tacha.
Additional information about the program is located at
2009-2010 White House Fellows National Finalists and Hometowns
Chisaraokwu Asomugha, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar, Yale University School of Medicine; Hamden CT
Laura Bacon, Technical Advisor & Researcher, Government of Liberia, Monrovia, Liberia; Weymouth, MA
Jeremy Block, PhD. Candidate, Biochemistry , Duke University; Manlius, NY
Sudip Bose, Attending Emergency Physician, Advocate Christ Medical Center; Chicago, IL
Nicole Campbell, Vice President, Deutsche Bank Americas Foundation, Brooklyn, NY
Jose Fernandez, Managing Director, BTI Group; San Francisco, CA
Jonathan Finer, Foreign Correspondent, The Washington Post; New Haven, CT
Rebekah Gee, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar; Columbus, OH
Elisha Gilliam, Senior Associate, The Annie E. Casey Foundation, Baltimore, MD
Victor Glover, Test Pilot/Project Officer, VX-31, Naval Air Weapons Station; Pomona, CA
John Green, SEAL Troop Commander, SEAL Team SEVEN; Los Angeles, CA
Kenneth Harbaugh, Writer, NPR contributor and retired Navy aviator; Hamden, CT
Zheng Huang, Managing Director, Intel Corporation; San Jose, CA
Kellee James, Economist, Chicago Climate Exchange; Chicago, IL
Sarah Johnson, Junior Fellow, Harvard Society of Fellows; Lexington, KY
Robert Lyman, Commander, 96th Communications Squadron, US Airforce; Walkersville, MD
Anish Mahajan, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar; Poughkeepsie, New York
Mehret Mandefro, Staff Physician, Adolescent HIV Clinic, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and Research Faculty, University of Pennsylvania; Alexandria, VA
Ann Maxwell, Chief Operating Officer, Direct Relief International; Santa Barbara, CA
Emil Michael, Founder and President, Venture Consulting; Miami Beach, FL
Kendric Robbins, Executive Officer, Task Force 2-6 Infantry, United States Army; Albion, ME
Anthony Russell, Press Secretary to the Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard; Stafford, VA
Manish Sethi, Surgical Resident, Harvard Combined Orthopedics Program; Brookline, MA
Raj Shah, MBA Candidate, University of Pennsylvania Wharton School of Business; Bonaire, GA
Rachel Skerritt, Headmaster, Boston Public Schools; Roxbury, MA
Marc Sternberg, Founder & Principal, Bronx Lab School; New York, NY
Maura Sullivan, Epidemiologist, Risk Management Solutions; Palo Alto, CA
Adam Taylor, Senior Political Director, Sojourners; Washington DC
Presiliano Torrez, Assistant Attorney General, New Mexico; Albuquerque, NM
Michael Webber, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering and Associate Director, Center for International Energy and Environmental Policy; Austin, TX