This is historical material “frozen in time”. The website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work.

Search form

The White House
Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release

World Leaders and Heads of Delegation Attending the Nuclear Security Summit

Below and attached is a list of world leaders and Heads of Delegation attending the Nuclear Security Summit in Washington on April 12-13:

People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
His Excellency Mourad Medelci
Minister of Foreign Affairs of the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Argentine Republic
Her Excellency Cristina Fernández de Kirchner
President of the Argentine Republic

Republic of Armenia
His Excellency Serzh Sargsyan
President of the Republic of Armenia

The Honorable Senator John Faulkner
Minister for Defense of Australia

His Excellency Yves Leterme
Prime Minister of Belgium

Federative Republic of Brazil
His Excellency Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva
President of the Federative Republic of Brazil

The Right Honorable Stephen Harper, P.C., M.P.
Prime Minister of Canada

Republic of Chile
His Excellency Sebastián Piñera
President of the Republic of Chile

People’s Republic of China
His Excellency Hu Jintao
President of the People’s Republic of China

Czech Republic
His Excellency Jan Fischer
Prime Minister of the Czech Republic

Arab Republic of Egypt
His Excellency Ahmed Aboul Gheit
Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Arab Republic of Egypt

European Union
His Excellency Herman Van Rompuy
President of the European Council

Republic of Finland
Her Excellency Tarja Halonen
President of the Republic of Finland

French Republic
His Excellency Nicolas Sarkozy
President of the French Republic

His Excellency Mikheil Saakashvili
President of Georgia

Federal Republic of Germany
Her Excellency Dr. Angela Merkel
Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany

Republic of India
His Excellency Dr. Manmohan Singh
Prime Minister of the Republic of India

Republic of Indonesia
His Excellency Dr. Boediono
Vice President of the Republic of Indonesia

International Atomic Energy Agency
Mr. Yukiya Amano
Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency

His Excellency Dan Meridor
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intelligence and Atomic Energy of Israel

Italian Republic
His Excellency Silvio Berlusconi
President of the Council of Ministers of the Italian Republic

His Excellency Yukio Hatoyama
Prime Minister of Japan

Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
His Majesty King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein
King of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan

Republic of Kazakhstan
His Excellency Nursultan Nazarbayev
President of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Republic of Korea
His Excellency Lee Myung-bak
President of the Republic of Korea

The Honorable Dato' Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak
Prime Minister of Malaysia

United Mexican States
His Excellency Felipe Calderon Hinojosa
President of the United Mexican States

Kingdom of Morocco
His Excellency Abbas El Fassi
Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Morocco

Kingdom of the Netherlands
His Excellency Dr. Jan Peter Balkenende
Prime Minister of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

New Zealand
The Honorable John Key
Prime Minister of New Zealand

Federal Republic of Nigeria
His Excellency Dr. Goodluck E. Jonathan
Acting President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

His Excellency Jens Stoltenberg
Prime Minister of Norway

Islamic Republic of Pakistan
His Excellency Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani
Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Republic of Philippines
Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo
President of the Republic of the Philippines

Republic of Poland
His Excellency Radoslaw Sikorski
Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Poland

Russian Federation
His Excellency Dmitry A. Medvedev
President of the Russian Federation

Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
His Royal Highness Prince Muqrin bin Abd al-Aziz Al Saud
President of the General Intelligence Presidency of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Republic of Singapore
His Excellency Lee Hsien Loong
Prime Minister of the Republic of Singapore

Republic of South Africa
His Excellency Jacob Zuma
President of the Republic of South Africa

His Excellency José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero
President of the Government of Spain

His Excellency Fredrik Reinfeldt
Prime Minister of Sweden

Swiss Confederation
Her Excellency Doris Leuthard
President of the Swiss Confederation

Kingdom of Thailand
His Excellency Trairong Suwankiri
Deputy Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Thailand

Republic of Turkey
His Excellency Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Prime Minister of the Republic of Turkey

His Excellency Viktor Yanukovych
President of Ukraine

United Arab Emirates
His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan
Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces

United Kingdom
The Right Honorable David Miliband, M.P.
Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

United Nations
His Excellency Ban Ki-moon
Secretary-General of the United Nations

United States
The Honorable Barack Obama
President of the United States

Socialist Republic of Vietnam
His Excellency Nguyen Tan Dung
Prime Minister of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam