The White House

Office of the Press Secretary

President Obama Signs North Dakota Disaster Declaration

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of North Dakota and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by flooding during the period of April 22 to May 16, 2013.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the flooding in the counties of Benson,  Bottineau,  Cass,  Cavalier,  Eddy,  Foster,  McHenry,  Pembina,  Ramsey,  Renville, Richland,  Rolette,  Towner,  Traill,  Walsh, and  Wells and the Spirit Lake Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and Tribes within the state.

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Gary R. Stanley as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. 

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

White House Shareables