The White House

Office of the Press Secretary

President Obama Signs Nebraska Disaster Declaration

The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Nebraska and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, ice jams, and flooding during the period of March 6 to April 3, 2010.

Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, ice jams, and flooding in the counties of Antelope, Arthur, Boone, Boyd, Butler, Cass, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Gage, Greeley, Hayes, Holt, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lancaster, Loup, Madison, Nance, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Pierce, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Seward, Stanton, Thurston, Valley, Wheeler, and York.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide. 

W. Craig Fugate, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Stephen R. Thompson as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected area. 

FEMA said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


White House Shareables